top of page
Search

How She Stopped Picking My Call

Her name is Vivian not real name. She was as beautiful as the goddess of beauty. And she was so fair that you'd wonder if she is human or from the galaxy. Her smiles are like the Roman goddess. Her face was a combination of oval and oblong shape. That means her face wasn't either of the two but has element of both. The first day l saw her was in a church. And it wasn't the church where l worship regularly. I had decided to attend another Anglican Church to have a taste of its mode of prayer. I have heard so much about the man who pastors that students' church that I decided to take a whiff of it. That day was my second Sunday of worshipping in that church. I didn't see her the previous Sunday probably, bcs of ASUU strike. I was wearing an Ash colour senator suit that showed my broad chest. I am also a very handsome man. And many women and men had complimented my look. Because l have this gait and aura that got girls tripping She wore a Navy blue fitted gown that accentuated her beauty. As l came through the western door, she stared and smiled at me simultaneously. I stared back at her but withheld a smile. The church was about to go into procession so I rushed in. I have had experience with women so I knew she liked me. Honestly, my heart skipped. I have been searching for a damsel to marry. And she is just an epitome of a woman of my dreams. While service was going on, I was thinking of her. Honestly, I wanted the service to end so that I can speak with her. But after the service, she didn't come out. She was an usher. So they were rearranging things used for the service. So I left but frankly, I was dejected. Four days later, I saw her with a guy coming from an ATM machine located inside the campus. I looked and her and smiled making up for my failure to do same the previous day. She smiled back, "good evening," she said. I didn't want to call her bcs I didn't want the guy with her to feel bad. But the desire to speak with her overwhelmed me. Hence, I waved at her and bid her come. Without hesitation she came, smiling as she was coming. I asked her for her lowdown. And she obligingly told me and from their l discovered that she is from my locality. I was so happy that my wife to be is from an adjacent community. I didn't want the guy to feel bad so l released her. "We will see on Sunday,'" I told her. And she left beaming. The next Sunday I saw her after service and we talked. I didn't asked her out as most men do naively. We have become friends and I believed that things will evolve. And actually things did evolved. I gave her things when I felt like doing it. But she never asked me for anything. I never invited her to my house bcs I didn't wabt to fornicate with her. Whenever I desired to see her I would meet her at the school love garden. We continued like that for a long time. But before then, she had told me that her Android phone damaged. I didn't want to buy her one not bcs I don't have money nor bcs l don't love her. I didn't want to do it bcs I didn't want her to have the impression that l want to impress her with gifts. I want to make her my wife and I didn't want to create an image of a money bag to her. One day I asked her why her father hadn't bought a new phone for her. "I don't know ooh," she answered. I sighed. "I am so impressed that a beautiful girl like you could accept to go about without an Android phone," I told her. She didn't say anything. "I'do like to have a daughter like you. And if I do, I will not hesitate to provide her with an Android phone. I guess she misinterpreted my drift. What I told was an indirect way of telling her that I want to make her my wife. Bcs there is no other way to have a daughter like her except by marrying her. But bcs of her level of perception, she couldn't comprehend what I meant. I offered to buy or give her money to buy an Android phone not as a gift but as a loan which she would pay at her convenient time. But she rejected the offer. "My father and not another person will buy me phone," she retorted We continued as friend. But l knew that things are no longer as it used to be. Moreover, she is the kind of woman that would never accost a man. And I think she is on the extreme side of pride. Probably, bcs of her pride and for the fact that her hymen is still intact. Don't ask me how I knew. I have had many women so I knew an untouched dame when I see one. After, the semester exam, she travelled for the holidays. She stayed at her place from November to January. And by then I have stopped attending her church. I have reverted to my church. When she came back from the holidays, she had come to the church with the hope of seeing me. But she didn't see me. So after service, she called me to find out why I didn't come to church. I told her that I was fine but I didn't just come to church. The next Sunday she didn't see me. But she never called me but I called her and requested that we should meet at our rendezvous. But she declined and told me that she would be two busy to come out. So for about four Sundays I didn't go to her church. Because the pastor teaches a doctrine that is unAnglican. The pastor was s born Catholic and had been in a pastor in Winners church. According to him, he wants to be a priest. But he left Roman Catholic bcs he wanted to marry and raisi a family. And Catholic priests do not marry. So he embraced Anglicanism so that he could be a priest and also marry. And he is married now as a pastor warming up for priesthood after he must have attended Anglican theological school. Hence, his teaching is more of prosperity which he learnt in Winners than salvation through repentance as Anglicanism preaches. So for me as a third generation Anglican, I wasn't comfortable with that so I stayed away from him. And I felt that he is polluting the minds of Anglicans. But there was nothing l could do about it Vivian wasn't happy that I no longer attend her church. But she was either too timorous or proud that she couldn't ask me. I kept asking her to see me and she kept giving me excuses. I knew that she wasn't open with me but I opted to play along. So one day l told her that if l come to her church l would definitely see her. But I won't come to her church to see her bcs God sees my heart and would be unhappy with me for coming purposely to see her and not to worship or hear the word. She never said anything to what l said. One day she called me, "you said you have been coming to my church purposely to see me?" she asked me. "I didn't tell you that. I merely said that if I come to your church that I must see you," I told her. "I have been in that church before I met you," I added. I presume that took her off her high horse. Because she wanted to become the captain of the ship but I didn't allow her. After that encounter, I called her several times but she won't pick my call. But once in a while, she would pick. And when I ask her why she hadn't been picking my calls, she would say she was too busy. I didn't dispute her excuse. I wanted her to think she fools me. One day I say to her, "you have misinterpreted most of the things I told you and it is pertinent that we should meet so that I would disabuse your mind. "I never misunderstood anything you told me. Is it bcs I asked you why you stopped coming to our church?" she asked. "Yes, and other things as well," I said. "Okay, you can tell me that now," she said. "I will tell you all you need to know, but that won't be on phone," I said. If you have something to tell me, you can say it on phone," she said her voice commanding. "I can say it on phone. It is something I would tell you face to face,"I told her. "Well, you know l have started my project so l am very busy to come and see you," she said peadingly. Two days later, all the tertiary institutions in Nigeria were closed due to Coronavirus pandemic. And since she went back to her parents, she hasn't been picking my calls. And l really want to speak with you her bcs l care about her. That is my story. Kindly offer any advice you have.Screeneshots from Instagram were used for illustration. Real pictures used but cut to a small sizes.

Content created and supplied by News Hub Creator . Opera News is a free to use platform and the views and opinions expressed herein are solely those of the author and do not represent, reflect or express the views of Opera News. Any/all written content and images displayed are provided by the blogger/author, appear herein as submitted by the blogger/author and are unedited by Opera News. Opera News does not consent to nor does it condone the posting of any content that violates the rights (including the copyrights) of any third party, nor content that may malign, inter alia, any religion, ethnic group, organization, gender, company, or individual. Opera News furthermore does not condone the use of our platform for the purposes encouraging/endorsing hate speech, violation of human rights and/or utterances of a defamatory nature. If the content contained herein violates any of your rights, including those of copyright, and/or violates any the above mentioned factors, you are requested to immediately notify us using via the following email address feedback-newshub@operanewshub.com and/or report the article using the available reporting functionality built into our Platform.Read more>>





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page